Fire Recruit Requirements
All newly hired firefighter recruits must successfully complete a training program lasting approximately 38 weeks. This program includes the Hampton Roads Fire Academy (HRFA) lasting 16 weeks, Virginia Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) training (5 weeks), EMT certification process (3 weeks), and Advanced EMT training and certification process (10 weeks). Recruits are placed in stations after graduation and are encouraged to pursue Paramedic certification if they wish to earn a higher salary and additional incentive. Although Advanced EMT is the current minimum required EMS certification, Paramedic may be required after a recruit has completed all other minimum requirements. Successful graduation from the HRFA is mandatory, unless the recruit has graduated from an approved fire academy. To graduate from HRFA, recruits must meet all standards established by the department, including but not limited to:
- A passing score on all written tests with an overall average of 80% throughout HRFA
- Attendance in all classes and practical training evolutions.
- Certification as a Virginia Emergency Medical Technician-Basic (EMT-B)
- Certification as a Virginia Emergency Medical Advanced EMT (AEMT)
- Participation in physical fitness training and achievement of goals.
- Adherence to all standards, rules, guidelines, and requirements as established by City policy, Standard Operating Procedures (SOP), HRFA rules and regulations, EMS training program rules and regulations, and to Training Staff expectations
General Eligibility Requirements
(must be met as of the application closing date):
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must have a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent
- Must have a valid driver’s license and satisfactory driving record based off the City’s driving criteria.
- Must be a U.S. citizen or legally eligible to work in the United States.
- Must agree to sign a No Tobacco Use Agreement, which prevents an individual from using any tobacco products at any time, on or off duty, while employed by the city.
- Must meet the medical requirements set forth in NFPA 1582, Chapter 6: Medical Evaluations of Applicants.
Items that may result in disqualification:
- Anything other than an honorable or general discharge from the military.
- Must Not possess any conviction under the Office of Emergency Medical Services disqualifiers.
- Must Not currently use illegal drugs OR have ever illegally possessed/used in the past five (5) years, any drug or controlled substance which would constitute a felony.
- Must Not have convictions or found guilty of any crime involving the use, possession, or distribution of illegal drugs. However, may be eligible for affiliation (5) five years after the date of final release if no additional similar crimes have been committed during that time.
- Must Not have been convicted of a crime of moral turpitude. Crimes of moral turpitude include but are not limited to: larceny, fraud, embezzlement, perjury, and sexual crimes.
- A driving record that is inconsistent with city or division expectations.
All applicants must pass a timed Candidate Physical Ability Test (CPAT).
The position of firefighter requires the agility and physical strength to perform prolonged and arduous work under adverse conditions. This includes but is not limited to the ability to lift, move, and maintain position on items (e.g. charged hoses) up to 90 pounds; push objects up to 25 pounds; pull objects from 25 to 50 pounds, and lift or pull victims weighing more than 150 pounds.
Driver's License Requirements
The Hampton Division of Fire and Rescue requires employees to maintain a valid driver's license in their current state of residence as a condition of employment. Refer to the DMV website for more information on driving and license requirements.
- MUST have a point balance of -4 or better (or equivalent, if a non-Virginia resident) in order to apply. However, if a job offer is extended, applicant must have a point balance of -3 or better.
- At the time of application, must have a driving record without any convictions of reckless driving within three (3) years, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs within five (5) years, convicted of a felony or assigned to any alcohol safety action program or driver alcohol rehabilitation program, hit and run, or operating on a suspended or revoked license with the past five (5) years.
- Moving violations must not be incompatible with Division standards, i.e., numerous speeding or improper driving infractions. The fire chief will review and determine any issues of incompatibility.