Athletic Hall of Fame of The Lower Virginia Peninsula

Athletic Hall of Fame-nf

Established in 1971 by Hampton City Council to honor local achievement, the Hall of Fame recognizes men and women for their achievements as a player, a coach or in an area that has impacted the promotion and reflection of sports on the Lower Virginia Peninsula (Hampton, Newport News, Poquoson and York County).

New members are inducted every three years and are selected by a seven-member committee. The hall of fame is located inside the Boo Williams Sportsplex at 5 Armistead Pointe Parkway.

The 2022 Athletic Hall of Fame took place on Sunday, Aug. 7, at 6 p.m., at the Boo Williams Sportsplex.

The 2022 inductees are NFL Quarterback Michael Vick; NBA player and VP of Nike's Jordan Brand, Howard White; local and international basketball star Tony Rutland; CNU track and field star Sheila Trice-Myers; Nascar driver Danny Edwards Jr.; Former VMI athletic director and coach Donny White. Outstanding Achievement Awards will be given to Dr. William R. Harvey and Al Pearce.

View past inductees: 2014 (PDF) | 2011


The Hall of Fame was established February 13, 1971, by Hampton City Council. The original committee was composed of "Duff" Kliewer, Andy Greenwell, Robert Moskowitz, Rufus Gant, Bernard Sparrer and Harry Covert.